When I Met Uncle Paco

Uncle Paco has influenced my life unlike anyone else. He has been my teacher, showing me to love the poor. Paco uncle taught me to see Christ Himself in the poor. He showed me the path that Saint Ignacio wanted all Jesuits to take: “contemplative in action, a man of prayer, fidelity and love for the Church and the Company, and a very special devotion to the Virgin Mary through the Holy Rosary. In short, Uncle Paco has been for me, “the great guru” who, above all, taught more by example than words. He was a man with experience of God.

The beginning was very hard for me because I started during weather disaster of the “El Nino” that took effect from 1982-1983. Paco gave me encouragement to continue in the struggle for the homeless. Another event that marked the lives of Uncle Paco and myself, and the progress of Hogar de Cristo as an organization was our encounter with the Clarisa sisters. They called us to ask if we could build them a “Monastery” of wood and cane. They had nowhere to live; they were homeless nuns without money. At first we told them no, but perseverance prevailed in spite of us. We agreed and in short time built a monastery with all the dependencies necessary for the proper conduct of their contemplative order. The Clarisa sisters prayed, we worked and the homeless enjoyed the new shelter.

God gave me the grace to have come to Ecuador, met Uncle Paco, become his friend and to have worked side by side with him for the benefit of the poor.

-Roberto Costa

About Hogar de Cristo - Ecuador

Cuenta manejada por el departamento de Comunicaciones de Hogar de Cristo, Ecuador.
This entry was posted in Fires That Ignite Other Fires: Life stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

